Traditional Congregation offers the community the experience of Judaism’s rich heritage of Torah learning and mitzvot in a welcoming synagogue environment, which respects our diversity of knowledge and practices.

Our Rabbi

Rabbi Seth D. Gordon

Shalom! My family and I arrived here in the summer of 2007 from New York and found that Traditional Congregation exceeded our expectations. Traditional Congregation is unlike any other in the St Louis area (and elsewhere) and I sincerely invite you to visit us so that you can see for yourself; and of course, I hope you will speak with me personally.

I have been a pulpit rabbi for 32 years – five years in Annapolis, Maryland;15 in Bethpage, Long Island (New York) and now 12 years in St Louis. My wife, Marian, and I were both raised in New Jersey and are graduates of Rutgers University. I earned my first rabbinical degree in 1987 and my studies included several years in New York and Jerusalem.

Please reload

Our Staff

Marian Gordon

Executive Director

When Marian moved to St Louis in 2007, she was asked to "help out in the office at Traditional for a couple of months."  A couple of months and 12 years later, she is the Executive Director and chief cheerleader for the congregation, and puts to good use the skills from her previous careers in magazine publishing, staff development training, and real estate sales. Marian is active with JPro St Louis, an organization dedicated to supporting all those who work in the St Louis Jewish community.   She and her husband, Rabbi Seth Gordon, have five wonderful children, four terrific daughters-in-law and one terrific son-in-law, and the six most brilliant and beautiful grandchildren in the world.

Angela Tannenbaum

Administrative Assistant

Angela has felt a connection to Traditional Congregation ever since 1999, when she and her husband Zvi were married at the synagogue. She moved to St. Louis with her family in 2006 and joined the staff of Traditional Congregation in 2016. She has 6 children and 10 grandchildren.  Angela has served on the executive committee of Tomchei Shabbos for 11 years. She can be contacted at angelatradcong@yahoo.com.

Please reload

Our Board of Directors

Kenneth H. Bohm, President

Ellis Frohman, Financial VP

Mark Weinstein, Ritual VP

Marty Levy, Education Co-VP

Mindy Strauss, Education Co-VP

Chris Brown, Membership VP


Steven Puro, Administration VP

Steve Roufa, Building & Grounds Co-VP

Justin Zeid, Building & Grounds Co-VP

Dina Rinder, Youth VP

Ron Green, Fundraising VP


Barbara Levin, Treasurer


Mimi Levy, Secretary


Members at Large:

Maureen Brodsky

Stanley Estrin

Shelah Feldman

Bill Gold

Gary Golden

Stan Greenberg

Jack Heller

Sid Levin

Ari Levy

Carol Max

Florence Schachter

Lori Tesser

Past Presidents:

Phil Brick

Boaz Roth